The New CISA Certification

👤 By 🕓 Posted: 17 / 06 / 2019 | 👁 Views: 2,754


The ISACA®’s Certified Information Systems Auditor® (CISA®) certification is the de facto qualification for information systems security auditing. CISA is not just any certification, it’s a certification that validates your skills and expertise in auditing information systems, assessment of controls, and assurance information security. It proves you can assess vulnerabilities, report on compliance status and validate and enhance controls in an enterprise. That’s why hiring managers and clients look for CISA qualifications and many businesses and government agencies require it.

CISA training at AFRALTI is unique in Kenya and in the entire Africa region, passing your exam is just a prove that you’ve learnt the skill set to effectively manage an audit programme, evaluate IT governance, assess application security, evaluate effectiveness and efficiency of the day-to-day IT operations and learn the guidelines, standards, and best practices of protecting information assets.

Our CISA training is highly practical, participants learn how to create an audit programme, risk management, project management, application and database management and hands-on skills in security testing. Our CISA students learn how to perform analytics and are also taught how to practically perform penetration and vulnerability assessment using the current tools.

At AFRALTI, the capstone CISA case study challenges the trainee auditor to handle an audit engagement as project itself, come up with a complete audit procedure and make a class presentation simulating the presentation of an audit report to the board of directors of an organization.

CISA is not limited to any industry, it is a relevant certification required for information systems auditing, business risk management, corporate governance, physical security and cyber security – the CISA certification is designed for  forward-looking  professionals across a variety of industries whose sole objective is to mitigate business risks. The following industries benefit from CISA training:

  • Finance
  • Securities
  • Transportation
  • Health Care
  • Media & Communication
  • Insurance


What are five new tasks in the 2019 CISA Job Practice?

  • Perform technical security testing to identify potential threats and vulnerabilities.
  • Utilize data analytics tools to streamline audit processes.
  • Provide consulting services and guidance to the organization in order to improve the quality and control of information systems.
  • Identify opportunities for process improvement in the organization’s IT policies and practices.
  • Evaluate potential opportunities and threats associated with emerging technologies, regulations, and industry practices.


What are the major changes to the CISA 2019?

  • The CISA Domains 1 & 2 have only changed slightly, the reason for this is simply because the audit programme remains unchanged despite the technological changes being experienced in the ICT world. Corporate or specifically the IT governance is not much influenced the constant changes in the IT world.
  • Looking at the table below, you will be struck by the huge change in weighting for ISACA CISA domain 3 ostensibly to shift the focus from development to auditing. Having said that it does not mean the CISA candidate does not need to understand the various system development processes.
  • The name for CISA Domain 4 has been changed to focus on the business resiliency which is critical in today’s world where businesses are fully dependent on IT for all their operations.  There’s also a great need for organizations to meet regulatory requirements.
  • CISA is about auditing information security controls, Domain 5 addresses this and for ISACA to match this need, more weight has been added to this domain. There’s is also the need for IS auditor to be able to perform technical security testing to identify potential threats and vulnerabilities.


No CISA Domains Old Weight

New Weight

1  Information System Auditing Process 21%


2 Governance and Management of IT 16% 17%
3 Information Systems Acquisition, Development and Implementation 18% 12%
4 Information Systems Operations and Business Resilience 20% 23%
5 Protection of Information Assets 25% 27%


How much does CISA exam cost?

CISA exam costs 760 USD. Students in colleges and universities can make some savings when they join ISACA membership as student. Other professionals can also pay slightly less when they join for instance during half-year membership offer period.


How do I apply for CISA Certification?

The final step to becoming CISA certified is to submit the CISA Certification Application. Prior to doing so, the following requirements must be met:

  • Pass the CISA Exam within the last 5 years.
  • Have the relevant full-time work experience* in the CISA Job Practice Areas.
  • Submit the CISA Certification Application including Application Processing Fee.
  • Apply for CISA Certification


What do our students say about CISA training?

Click Here…

When is the next CISA class at AFRALTI

  • Four-month, Saturdays class: 24 August – 7 December, 2019
  • Five-day full day class: 8 – 12 July, 2019; 9 – 13 September, 2019


How do I register for CISA training at AFRALTI?

Simply click on the button below or write an email now to or call +254-0710-207061